Star Trek – Beyond

Yes, I saw the movie. I don’t fancy my opinion to be more meaningful than anyone else’s, but here goes. It’s a fun action adventure flick. It’s hard to call it Science Fiction; it’s more of a Fantasy. It has none of Gene Roddenberry’s vision of techno-social-political intrigue for the future. Rather this movie is a collage of many, many past SciFi plots—there is nothing new and nothing unpredictable. Simply the same ole save the Universe from the evil, omnipotent villain. Some of the ‘borrowing’ from past movies are actually comical. {{Spoiler – Rock’n’Roll will never die; as in Mars Attacks, music will save us all}}

Unfortunately, I was preoccupied with watching Anton Yelchin playing Pavel Chekov. Always a beloved character in the series, it was sad to know that the actor had died and this was his last performance. Anton has always brought much of the original spirit of Chekov to the new movies; I’m very sorry that I won’t see him again.

MV5BNzEzMTI2NjEyNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTA0OTE4OA@@._V1_UX214_CR0,0,214,317_AL_I really enjoyed the surprise of seeing Idris Elba as the villain Krall. I’ve been watching the British TV series Luther and have come to really enjoy this actor’s performance.

The ending did give us a promise of more Chris Pine – Zachary Quinto adventures to come—and I will watch them.

One thought on “Star Trek – Beyond

  1. Savannah Rollins

    I’ve seen the first two newer Star Trek films. I enjoyed these revisited adaptations with today’s actors and actresses. Chris Pine, Zoe Saldana, Zachary Quinto, Idris Elba, and the late Anton Yelchin are favorites of mine. Thanks for your interesting review 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

